You need to use EasyEDA editor to create some projects before publishing
Beginner PCB design check please? (Nodemcu LED strip)
1668 9
MarkOrkenyi 6 years ago
Hello there! I'm new to EasyEDA and also new to PCB designing. I'm trying to create a PCB for a NodeMCU controlled LEDstrip (mostly for learning purposes). Can someone check my PCB please and point out any mistakes? (between the "12V" and "VIN" headers will be a 12V to 5V converter, and will add more clear texts, but that's not relevant for the design) https://easyeda.com/editor#id=92a0587fedfe4bb3b4d2e10279c86fa0|d63401f035364364ab897c72c973eded Thanks in advance!
Comments
andyfierman 6 years ago
### First Please read: https://easyeda.com/andyfierman/Welcome_to_EasyEDA-31e1288f882e49e582699b8eb7fe9b1f ### Schematic 1. Your ground (negative supply) connections are all separate. Should they not all be the same GND net? 2. How are the three MOSFETs supposed to work? Is the MCU supposed to turn them on and off and so turn the colours in the LEDSTRIP on and off (presumably using a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) signal to control the brightness)? If yes then you have connected them wrongly. The gates should go to the MCU and the drains should go to the LEDSTRIP 3. Have you checked all the unconnected pins? What are the 3.3V pins for? 4. Place not connected `X` symbols on all unused/unconnected pins to clarify the schematic and help in Design checking (the Design button in the left hand panel). ### PCB 5. Increase trace widths especialy power. Why not place a top layer +5V copper area? 6. Add 100nF decoupling cap across Vin and GND pins on MCU. See: https://easyeda.com/andyfierman/Power_supply_decoupling_and_why_it_matters_-451e18a0d36b4f208394b2a2ff7642c9 7. Put symbols for your mounting holes in the schematic (the reason for this is explained in the link at the top of this post).
MarkOrkenyi 6 years ago