You need to use EasyEDA editor to create some projects before publishing
Easily Replicating segment of PCB layout?
2224 10
MadOverlord 4 years ago
I'm an EasyEDA newbie so please forgive me if there's an obvious answer to this that I've missed. I am designing a board that has 8 identical submodules which are then wired together to form the final layout. I've come up with a nice layout for the submodule (and figured out how to use test pins in the design so that the module has nicely defined entry points). So far, so good. The problem is: what is the easiest way to replicate the nice layout for the other 7 submodules? I have tried: 1) Creating modules. Does not work, because importing a schematic module does not automatically use the associated PCB module (but does rename the parts and nets in the schematic), and importing a PCB module does NOT rename the parts and nets, so it's useless for multiple copies of the same module. And with no documentation that I can find, it's unclear to me exactly what the point of importing PCB modules is. 2) Selecting everything, deselect the components, copy-paste to create a set of empty tracks, move the proper components and then rename all the nets in the tracks. This works, but its tedious. If there is a simple solution, I'd much appreciate a pointer to it. One thing that I did notice is that you can select all the tracks and then clear their nets all at once. Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be a "Rebuild Nets" feature. The algorithm would seem to be straightforward:   While progress is being made, for each track in the selection, if the net is blank, then if it touches something that is in a named net, set it to that net. This would effectively flood-fill the tracks with the proper net connections. It would allow you to do this workflow: 1) Copy a group of tracks and paste them. 2) Clear their net labels. 3) Drag in the correct components (which have net labels). 4) Link all the tracks to their new components. Is there perh